My Summer Is About Self-Motivation: Summer of code to be a better person

There is something that I feel like I should clarify. I, like most people, have hobbies of my own. To be specific, I like coding and writing. Shocking how those are the two things that I am focusing on. Sarcasm aside, there is a bit of a problem that I have never addressed. I am used to doing work because it is needed of me. I am not used to the idea of doing work that I sanctioned for myself. I did work because I was told to by a superior, because there was a hole that needed filling, or because I was struck by an odd inspiration. None of these were bad reasons to do work, but it is not a complete picture.

When it came to hobbies, I noticed that I was missing something. Others had hobbies that they enjoy, and they were able to do amazing feats with them. People were able to accomplish tasks that were fascinating and inspiring. Yet, I did not think I was getting anywhere near that. It wasn’t until I saw the opposite of the achievers that I had a good understanding of what I was missing. Over the course of the last few years, I met people who would mutter about past dreams they held. They looked back with regret and longing at what they could have accomplished. Hearing this, I wondered why they just didn’t do it. What stopped them? Thinking about it, I realized it was the amount of effort they put into their goals. Those that I saw achieve their goals gave time and effort towards the accomplishments. Those that looked back with regret, did not. It wasn’t until this past year, where I almost spent equal time with each personality that it cemented what I needed.

This summer is more about just getting my coding and writing to snuff. I have dreamed of big things, like most people have. Yet, I have not put forth the effort that was required in making those ideas a reality. This summer is about changing that. This summer is about understanding the work that is needed to make myself better than what I am. This summer, I will begin to break the laziness that I have hid behind for too long. That is why I am doing what I’m doing.

To be fair, this is not a ground-breaking discovery. In fact, I’ve read countless quotes, stories, articles, and personal accounts that focus on this very topic. Well, it’s unfortunate that I tend to learn things only when I experience them. You can tell me over and over that the stove is hot, but I won’t fully understand it until I test it out myself. That is something that I’m also working on. As of now, I am working on my self-motivation. Here’s to becoming a real go-getter.

Leave a comment