How I Will Keep Going: Very loose ideas

So, I said earlier that I don’t have enough of a base plan to feel like I am making real progress. This is still the problem that I am coming across. I have a general idea of where I want to improve on this, but I don’t have a solid base. So, to help me organize the ideas, I might as well write them down.

For the programming side of things, I need a project(or projects) to work on that will require me to keep at it. I want to continue work on the Yahtzee clone, but that is a minor project at best. It’s not something that will take up an entire summer(or if it did, I need to get my butt in gear). Mostly, I’ve been skirting around getting down into it. That might just be my big problem with it, as getting to work is what I need to do. Yet, I don’t have enough of a net to catch me after I complete that project. Now, I might not have to worry about that, as ideas tend to come when one is hard at work. So, my idea is that I will work on the clone for now, and leave the worrying to later. I am doing this in the hope that an idea comes about during work on the clone.

With the writing, I am going to have a bit more of a harder time. I will keep doing the updates as I am, but I need a project on this side to expand on it. This is where I am having more difficulty. I don’t have a solid idea on what the project needs to be about, and I’m not sure how to come across an idea. I always imagined ideas as some sudden burst that came to you at times that seemed appropriate. I never thought of the inverse, where I would have to seek out the ideas. Now, I have known that seeking out ideas is a valuable trait, but I have never needed to apply the idea too much. In hindsight. that is a slight on my part, and needs to be fixed. I am hoping that I can gain some of that experience while I scratch my head over the writing project.

3 comments

  1. I am willing to wager that you have ideas, also that you do not think any of them worthy. Perhaps you only need help figuring out which of your ideas does not fall apart quickly or that might even go the distance?

    1. Pretty much this. I haven’t had much experience sitting down and making myself do work. I am used to doing projects because they are needed to be done. I’m still exploring the idea of creating my own work for my sake. So, yes. I am having trouble coming up with solid ideas that will stick over time.

Leave a comment